The Zoological Research Museum Alexander Koenig

is a research museum of the Leibniz Association

Biohistoricum

Reiter

Info

Biohistoricum

Research Archives for the History of Biology

Commitment to the past means prospectives for the future!

Tasks

The tasks of the Biohistoricum include systematizing, making available and exploring the various stocks such as partial estates, letters, illustrations and portraits, which have a reference to the history of biology in the German-speaking world. The own research library contains more than 50,000 volumes of books. The spectrum covers various life science disciplines (e.g. zoology, botany, evolutionary biology, medical history). In addition, the Biohistoricum is involved in the publication of the scientific series "Acta Biohistorica" ​​in the Basilisken-Presse in the publisher Natur + Text [http://www.basilisken-presse.de/acta-biohistorica.html]. In addition, the execution of events and special exhibitions is one of the tasks.

 

History

 

The Biohistoricum was founded in 1998 as a museum and research archive for the history of biology in Neuburg an der Donau. Among others the "German Society for the History and Theory of Biology e.V." (DGGTB) was a major driver of the foundation. Since October 2008, the Biohistoricum is a central facility of the Zoological Research Museum Alexander Koenig (ZFMK). The DGGTB meets annually, alternately in Bonn and a selected other place. The annual conference took place in the ZFMK in 2019. Link to the program: https://www.geschichte-der-biologie.de/jahrestagungen/jahrestagung-2019/#Progr_Tab

 

Stocks

The Biohistoricum contains both scientific and private partial estates and offprint collections from German-speaking countries, as well as an extensive specialized library with hand-held collections of renowned biologists.

(Partial) estates (selected examples):

- Paul Buchner (1886–1976)
- Otto Bütschli (1848–1920)
- Carl Rudolf Burckhardt (1866−1908)
- Karl von Frisch (1886−1982)
- Ernst Florey (1927–1997)
- Paul Hoffmann (1931–2008)
- Werner Jacobs (1901−1971)
- Arne von Kraft (1928–2012)
- Heinz Eberhard Krampitz (1921–1991)
- Ingo Krumbiegel (1903–1990)
- Fritz Müller (1822−1897)
- Hermann Müller (1829−1883)
- Hans Querner (1921–2012)
- Siegfried Strugger (1906−1961)
- Otto Schoetensack (1850−1912)
- Georg Friedrich Leopold Tischler (1878−1955)
- Wolfgang Tischler (1913−2007)
- Wilhelm Troll (189 –1978)

 

Leibniz Working Group

The Biohistoricum is represented in the “AK-Archive” of the Leibniz Association. Here you can find the current publication of the working group (in German): https://www.leibniz-gemeinschaft.de/ueber-uns/neues/mediathek/publikationen/kultur-bewahren.html

Contact person

Head of Biohistoricum
+49 228 9122-269
+49 228 9122-212
K.Schmidt-Loske [at] zfmk.de

Das Zoologische Forschungsmuseum Alexander Koenig

ist ein Forschungsmuseum der Leibniz Gemeinschaft

Biohistoricum

Reiter

Info

Das Biohistoricum

Forschungsarchiv für die Geschichte der Biologie

 

Ein Bekenntnis zur Vergangenheit mit Zukunft

Aufgaben

Zu den Aufgaben des Biohistoricums gehört es die verschiedenen Bestände wie Nachlässe, Briefe, Illustrationen und Porträts, welche einen Bezug zur Geschichte der Biologie im deutschsprachigen Raum haben, zu erschließen, zu systematisieren, oder anderweitig verfügbar zu machen und zu erforschen. Die eigene Arbeits- und Forschungsbibliothek enthält mehr als 50.000 Bände von Büchern. Das Spektrum umfasst verschiedene biowissenschaftliche Fachgebiete (z.B. Zoologie, Botanik, Evolutionsbiologie, Medizingeschichte). Außerdem ist das Biohistoricum an der Herausgabe der wissenschaftlichen Schriftenreihe „Acta Biohistorica“ in der Basilisken-Presse im Verlag Natur + Text beteiligt (http://www.basilisken-presse.de/acta-biohistorica.html). Zusätzlich zählt die Durchführung von Veranstaltungen und Sonderausstellungen zu den Aufgabenbereichen (ausgewählte Beispiele folgen):

 

Geschichte

Das Biohistoricum wurde 1998 als Museum und Forschungsarchiv für die Geschichte der Biologie unter anderem von der "Deutschen Gesellschaft für Geschichte undTheorie der Biologie e.V." (DGGTB) in Neuburg an der Donau gegründet. Seit Oktober 2008 ist das Biohistoricum eine zentrale Einrichtung des Zoologischen Forschungsmuseums Alexander Koenig (ZFMK). Seitdem tagt die DGGTB jährlich, abwechselnd in Bonn und einem ausgesuchten anderen Ort. 2019 fand die Jahrestagung im ZFMK statt. Link zum Programm: https://www.geschichte-der-biologie.de/jahrestagungen/jahrestagung-2019/#Progr_Tab

 

Bestände

Im Biohistoricum befinden sich sowohl wissenschaftliche und private Teilnachlässe und Sonderdrucksammlungen aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum, als auch eine umfangreiche Fachbibliothek mit Handbeständen namhafter Biologen.

(Teil-) Nachlässe (ausgewählte Beispiele):

-    Paul Buchner (1886–1976)
-    Otto Bütschli (1848–1920)
-    Carl Rudolf Burckhardt (1866−1908)
-    Karl von Frisch (1886−1982)
-    Ernst Florey (1927–1997)
-    Paul Hoffmann (1931–2008)
-    Werner Jacobs (1901−1971)
-    Arne von Kraft (1928–2012)
-    Heinz Eberhard Krampitz (1921–1991)
-    Ingo Krumbiegel (1903–1990)
-    Fritz Müller (1822−1897)
-    Hermann Müller (1829−1883)
-    Hans Querner (1921–2012)
-    Siegfried Strugger (1906−1961)
-    Otto Schoetensack (1850−1912)
-    Georg Friedrich Leopold Tischler (1878−1955)
-    Wolfgang Tischler (1913−2007)
-    Wilhelm Troll (189 –1978)

 

Leibniz-Arbeitskreis

Das Biohistoricum ist im AK-Archive der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft vertreten. Hier finden Sie die aktuelle Publikation des Arbeitskreises: https://www.leibniz-gemeinschaft.de/ueber-uns/neues/mediathek/publikationen/kultur-bewahren.html

 

Ansprechpartner

Leiterin Biohistoricum
+49 228 9122-269
+49 228 9122-212
K.Schmidt-Loske [at] zfmk.de