Zoological Research Museum Alexander Koenig

is a member of Leibniz Association

Link to Leibniz Association

Dr. Ximo Mengual

Head of the Section Diptera
Curator
Tel: +49 228 9122-292
Fax: +49 228 9122-212
Mail: x [dot] mengual [at] zfmk [dot] de

Tabs

Profile

Research interests

My research focuses on the systematics and taxonomy of true flies (Diptera) with specific emphasis on the world-wide family Syrphidae, commonly known as Flower flies or Hoverflies. Syrphid species are very important pollinators and play a crucial ecological and economic role as recyclers of dead plant and animal matter, pests of ornamental plants, and biocontrol agents of plant pests. Flower flies have been also used as bio-indicators of environmental health, and to demonstrate the effects of climate change on pollinators.

Additionally, I am interested on the ecology and the larval feeding modes of flower flies to explore possible evolutionary scenarios for these extremely diverse flies. The phylogenetic relationships of this group of flies and their placement within Muscomorpha are two other main goals of my research.

I am also interested on the usefulness of the so-called DNA taxonomy and on biodiversity research related to Diptera. Phylogenetics and phylogenomics are also of my interest, and I am working with molecular techniques using Next-Generation Sequencing to develop baits for Anchored Hybrid Enrichment. Together with the zmb, we have recently sequenced several transcriptomes and one syrphid genome for further phylogenomic studies. Furthermore, I like also to discuss about theoretical problems and new methods in phylogenetic systematics and phylogenomics.

Memberships

Asociación española de Entomología, Willi Hennig Society, Entomological Society of Washington

Further information

Address: Zoologisches Forschungsmuseum Alexander Koenig, Leibniz-Institut für Biodiversität der Tiere. Adenauerallee 160, D-53113  Bonn, Germany.

Staff search

Please enter a name
Please choose a staff list

Das Zoologische Forschungsmuseum Alexander Koenig

ist ein Forschungsmuseum der Leibniz Gemeinschaft

Dr. Ximo Mengual

Sektionsleiter Diptera
Kurator
Tel: +49 228 9122-292
Fax: +49 228 9122-212
Mail: x [dot] mengual [at] zfmk [dot] de

Tabs

Profil

Forschungsinteressen

Meine Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Systematik und Taxonomie von echten Fliegen (Diptera) mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf der weltweiten Familie der Syrphidae, allgemein bekannt als Blumenfliegen oder Hoverflies. Syrphiden-Arten sind sehr wichtige Bestäuber und spielen eine entscheidende ökologische und ökonomische Rolle als Recycler von toter Pflanzen- und Tiersubstanz, Schädlingen von Zierpflanzen und biologischen Schädlingsbekämpfungsmitteln. Blumenfliegen wurden auch als Bioindikatoren für die Umweltgesundheit verwendet und zeigen die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf Bestäuber.

Außerdem interessiere ich mich für die Ökologie und die Larvenfütterung von Fliegen, um mögliche Evolutionsszenarien für diese extrem unterschiedlichen Fliegen zu erforschen. Die phylogenetischen Beziehungen dieser Gruppe von Fliegen und ihre Platzierung innerhalb von Muscomorpha sind zwei weitere Hauptziele meiner Forschung.

Ich interessiere mich auch für die Nützlichkeit der so genannten DNA-Taxonomie und für Biodiversitätsforschung im Zusammenhang mit Diptera. Phylogenetics und Phylogenomics sind auch von meinem Interesse, und ich arbeite mit molekularen Techniken mit Next-Generation Sequencing, um Köder für Anchored Hybrid Enrichment zu entwickeln. Zusammen mit dem zmb haben wir kürzlich mehrere Transkriptome und ein Syrphid-Genom für weitere phylogenomische Studien sequenziert. Darüber hinaus möchte ich auch über theoretische Probleme und neue Methoden in der phylogenetischen Systematik und Phylogenomik diskutieren.

Mitgliedschaften

Asociación española de Entomología, Willi Hennig Society, Entomological Society of Washington

Weitere Informationen

Adresse: Zoologisches Forschungsmuseum Alexander Koenig, Leibniz-Institut für Biodiversität der Tiere. Adenauerallee 160, D-53113  Bonn, Germany.

Personensuche

Bitte geben Sie einen Namen ein
Bitte wählen Sie eine Liste aus